This Day in College Football History – November 13th

Vincent Testaverde (born November 13, 1963) is a former quarterback in the National Football League (NFL) for 21 seasons during the 1980s, 1990s and 2000s. Testaverde played college football for the University of Miami, where he was an All-American and won the Heisman Trophy in 1986. Testaverde was the first overall pick in the 1987 NFL Draft, and played professionally for the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Cleveland Browns, Baltimore Ravens, New York Jets, Dallas Cowboys, New England Patriots and Carolina Panthers of the NFL.

His professional career was principally characterized by its longevity, lasting a remarkable 21 seasons, playing with a total of seven different teams. However, despite being in the top 10 for most career passing statistics (8th in career passing yardage, 10th in career touchdown passes, 9th in career completions), Testaverde was not a notably successful quarterback in terms of wins and losses. His 123 losses as a starting quarterback is an NFL record, and his career regular season winning percentage of .423 is the lowest of any quarterback with at least 70 wins. He played in just five post-season games in his NFL career with a record of 2-3. His career NFL passer rating is 75.0, tied for 98th all time with Sid Luckman.


George W. “Tank” McLaren (August 29, 1896 – November 13, 1967) was a football and basketball player and coach. Playing at the University of Pittsburgh under legendary football coach Pop Warner, McLaren was an All-American in 1917 and 1918. During his playing career, he was never stopped for a loss on a running play. McLaren served as head football coach at Emporia State University, then known as Kansas State Normal College, (1919), the University of Arkansas (1920–1921), the University of Cincinnati (1922–1926), and the University of Wyoming (1927–1929), compiling a career record of 32–55–8. He also coached basketball at Wyoming for two seasons (1928–1930), tallying a mark of 28–10. McLaren was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame as a player in 1965.


Follow me!

Leave a Reply